Cycle down to the end of PTCGO

PTCGL gains official launch date

Welcome!

The Pokemon TCG Newsletter. All things TCG straight to your inbox.

In today’s episode

  • Cycling Road comes to Pokemon 151

  • The end of Pokémon Trading Card Game Online

  • Throwback Thursday featuring Lugia Legend

Cycling Road in Pokemon 151

The classic “bikes only” route in the OG Pokemon games.

Cycling Road 165/165 Illus. Oswaldo KATO

The repeating textures of the grass really give this card the classic game feel. To me, I get nostalgia looking at it.

This is the last card in the set before the secret rares.

Cycling Road – Trainer
Stadium

Once during each player’s turn, that player may discard a Basic Energy card from their hand. If they do, that player draws a card.

This Stadium stays in play when you play it. Discard it if another Stadium comes into play. If a Stadium with the same name is in play, you can’t play this card.

Pokémon Trading Card Game Online (PTCGO) Sunsets June 5th

On the 5th of June 2023 at 9am Pacific Time, The PTCGO closes.

On June 8, 2023, the Pokémon TCG Live game will officially launch.

Talk about confusing titles.

Any player who logs in to Pokémon TCG Live between May 2, 2023, at 10:00 a.m. PDT through June 6, 2023, at 10:00 a.m. PDT will receive a special gift that includes a unique global beta coin, deck box, and card sleeves.

Players can still migrate their accounts even after the servers have been shut down. There’s currently no assigned cutoff date for migrating your account and collection. Take an opportunity to read here about what to expect before and after migrating your account to Pokémon TCG Live.

Bonus items

What does that mean for my huge stack of unused code cards?

You will still be able to use or sell them.

Throwback Thursday

A special feature every day!

Lugia Legend cards

Lugia Legend Top 113/123, and Bottom 114/123

To my knowledge I believe this and the Ho-oh Legend cards were the first to be split into multiple cards. If I am wrong, I will eat my own words in the next newsletter.

To own a combination of the two cards in the same grade, and in sequential numbers would be very highly desirable. Actually, that is a complete understatement. I would sell my own family to own these cards in a graded 10 and in sequential numbers.

Now that I think about it, just find two that look like they will be similarly graded and just keep resubmitting them until they return with the same grade. Then we can talk. My mother is a great cook.

It is quite funny to see one card go up in value, and the other to gown down, and vice versa. If you want both at a lower cost, buy the low one then wait for the other to go low. But also take this advice with a grain of salt as I am no expert in the market. They will both probably go up now that I said that.

That’s a wrap!

I hope you enjoyed the eighth edition.
If you have any feedback, don’t hesitate to reach out. Just reply to this email.
Thanks for reading. Bye!